Sparkly Cowl

 

Last October we made a visit to Aberaeron West Wales, a beautiful place to visit on the coast, with colourful houses and beautiful long walks along the coast, well worth a visit .

Of course there just happened to be a craft shop with lots of yummy yarn, my lucky day!  I was very disciplined (yes really, it took a lot of strength ) and after a lot of restraint I just bought a few balls of a lovely sparkly yarn by Katina, called Air Lux. It’s 70% Viscose, 30% Merino Wool so really soft and warm, also sparkly. I’ve never come across yarn like this before .

 

I had Christmas presents in mind when I bought it and something for my daughter as she just loves wearing black, so this would be perfect!

I couldn’t find a pattern I liked, I thought to make a Cowl for evening wear and jotted down a few ideas , it was lovely to work with and I’m really pleased with how it turned out!

The yarn recommended a size 2-2.5mm hook but I used a size 3.5mm because I wanted that drapey feel to the finished Cowl. The pattern consists of a 5 row  pattern repeat , see my little chart below if you would like to give this a go. Stitches used were UK terms half treble and double crochet.

img_3253-2
Not very neat but guess you can work out my scribbles!  you could substitute  Trebles (uk terms) instead of the Half Trebles if you want . I started with ch46 for  the width, the final row was a row of DC which I made into the initial ch46 foundation row, which completed the pattern nicely.  Also I found the two rows of dc, between the the pattern rows ,  just balanced and held the shape of the cowl nicely.  I am happy to say it was a big hit with my daughter at Christmas along with the fingerless mittens I made out of the remainder of the two balls.

Hope you give it a go!

 

Leave a Reply

