Stashbuster Yarn and Eureka Moment!

img_3359

I am being so disciplined at the moment and using up my odds and ends in some pretty stash busting projects ( more bags and clutches will be posted soon), BUT….. don’t you just hate those tangled bunches of yarn that you just can’t throw away and are also such a pain to work with? Or is it just me 😉

img_3350

There is so much milage in these little odd ends and bits and pieces, messy but a good resource for smaller projects.

Well ladies, I just had a Eureka moment, at least thats what I thought it was, it may have just been a bright idea that I have seen elsewhere but didn’t register until now, either way what a great idea!

Firstly grab yourself a bag of cheap plastic pegs, the ones with the curve on the edges like mine below.

img_3352

These are perfect as the yarn just snaps nicely through the end of the peg and holds well… also I really really like the sound of that yarn snap when you pull it through ( sad but hey, little pleasures)…. Once the yarn is snapped and held in place wind as per the photos below.

img_3360

Every now and again wrap around ends and snap so the yarn does not slip back off.  You can wind away to your hearts content until your yarn is really well behaved and wound nicely in its new home ready for your next project.  Neat eh!

You can make the little yarn pegs as small or large as the peg will hold, I know pegs vary in size but I found even these standard little pegs hold quite a lot of yarn.  Also great if using multiple colour ways in one project.

fullsizerender-9

I have discovered another great feature of using these, if you drop them while winding, or crocheting, they don’t roll away under your sofa and you can retrieve with no pain!  Also they look so pretty in my little dish.  😀

fullsizerender-11

So now I am moving on to using these beauties for a stash buster project for my Crochet Class, just in time for Valentines.  Hope you enjoyed my little indulgence and if like me this idea really hits home then great!  If you already knew about this little neat trick … why didn’t you tell me before! 😉

Happy Peg Hunting! Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

