Diploma Catch up..

14040018_1749992491908239_7699747751570801893_n

My remakes are done! … Phew! ( for the ones that got lost in the post) , finally done and ready to be sent off for Part I of the International Diploma in Crochet.  I thought I would find it a chore to re-do these swatches but hey what can I say… Crochet is never a chore is it, especially when your a Crochetaholic like me.

So my swatches were the Treble and Quadruple Treble squares, and the sample of Double Crochet with 5 hook changes…

FullSizeRender 31Tunisian Simple Stitch one colour and another two colour swatch giving a tweed effect, finished with a round of dc and crab stitch( or reverse dc)  Love the way that looks!

Also having some fun with Tunisian squares with a  lap blanket I have on the go, ( my watching TV project) shown here with the cute little stitch holder from my Little Box of Crochet last month. Just so cute!!

FullSizeRender 38

Ooo these were some of my fav makes so far, Broomstick Lace, one with dc and the other trebles in between.  I didn’t have a large knitting needle so used a large lollypop type stick, worked a treat, not sure if the loops will be considered long enough but we shall see, but my first attempt at this lovely stitch and it won’t be my last for sure.

FullSizeRender 26

This little swatch gave me so much trouble… strange the simple things that catch you out… its a square of raised double rib.  This one was a re-submission from my first batch, the one on the right was my first attempt in lovely Scheepjes Stone Washed yarn, loved working with this, shame I only had one ball to try!  The swatch on the left above is my second attempt and looks much more like the photo that my assessor sent me, so again will need to wait and see on that one.

So after making all those little squares, I thought I have a change, I made some more little squares haha… This time for me!

FullSizeRender 37

I have started stocking up on Cotton Face Clothes,  ready for my weekend away (Anniversary Jaunt ) made with 100% Cotton, two Waffle  stitch versions and the other two from a fab pattern I stumbled upon on You Tube.  It was all in Italian/Russian or was it Polish?  No idea, I couldn’t understand a word , I’m Welsh! …so I just turned off the volume and watched.  Aren’t they so cute,  when making these, you crochet the two sides at the same time, independently, a new technique for me again (did I say they are also reversible), the pattern reminds me of little hearts.

Well there you go.. my last few weeks of Crochet makes in my ‘Happy Place’.. and just to show you that I do actually do other things other than crochet.. (yes really I do), heres a link to a review I did recently for Jacksons Art Supplies and their Art Spectrum Pastels, should any of you be interested in my Arty abilities that is!

detailing_the_eye

https://www.jacksonsart.com/blog/2017/03/01/liz-elsworth-reviews-art-spectrum-soft-pastels/

Bye for now.. hope you enjoy the forthcoming weekend… apparently the forecast is set to be  Crochet with a chance of Wine 😉

 

3 thoughts on “Diploma Catch up..

  1. Hi. You have been busy. Your samples all show up brilliantly in the photos – hope they get good feedback. My broomstick ones are ready to label and send …. found it rather awkward and tricky to get a rhythm going. J x 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Jenny, I loved the broomstick samples . All came back with great marks , so on to the next batch. I have done two lots of hairpin , I found those awkward to hold but guess practice will help. Still have to try buttons, yours were lovely! , something I’ve never made before aswell. It’s great to try these new projects though, and now that my workshop is done I should have a little more time to get moving on the rest of the projects (she said with confidence) haha x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: International Diploma Catch Up and Hello May… | creative corner

Leave a Reply

